2011 Planting Season

January 20, 2011 at 10:40 am Leave a comment

Its been unseasonably warm the last few weeks in Santa Cruz, giving everyone a great opportunity to start cleaning their plots for the 2011 planting season.  There is little planting to be done but plenty of work.  I spent the past few mornings cleaning the weeds from my parcel and turning the soil to aerate it.  Yesterday I harvested my second batch of delicious organic heirloom Nantes carrots (zanahorias en español) and today I will make some yummy stirfry.  Later this week I hope to transplant some of my herbs including oregano, thyme, and winter savory.  I will also be starting some broccoli, fennel, tomato and pepper seeds indoors in the near future.  When these plants are established I will transplant them into the ground.  The broccoli and fennel are hardy enough to be outside in February, but the tomatoes and peppers will have to wait until April or May.  Starting the seeds indoors early will give me a headstart on the harvest this year.

Entry filed under: Garden, Planting. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Planting Cilantro Planting Corn

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



